What are provincial herbs?

There are many herbs and spices that can be called the mixture herbes de Provence, but the basic recipe includes basil, fennel, marjoram, parsley, rosemary, tarragon, and thyme. Other recipes may include or omit crushed bay leaves, savory, chervil, sage, oregano, and mint.