How much do you run in a triathlon?

A sprint-distance triathlon is often the best way for a new triathlete to have positive experience in their first event. A typical sprint distance event consists of 400 to 500 yards (or meters) of swimming, 12 to 15 miles of cycling and typically a 3.1-mile run.