What is a martinet?

A "martinet" is someone who is very strict and demands others obey their rules and orders. Or a "martinet" was a method of punishment in France and Europe. It is a short whip made of a wooden handle about 10" in length and 10 lashes of equal length made of leather or soap-stifened cord.