Is chardonnay a white wine or red wine?

Chardonnay is a dry, full-bodied white wine with primary fruit flavors of apple, yellow melon and starfruit. Since it's one of the few white wines that is commonly aged in oak, you'll often find Chardonnay will taste of cream, vanilla or butter.