How many different kinds of christmas trees are there?

Better Homes and Gardens counts at least 35 types of evergreens grown in the United States for use as Christmas trees. But there are a few staple varieties like Fraser fir, Virginia pine, Douglas fir, Scotch pine, and blue spruce common to many growers.