How do you cut a butternut squash?

Lay the butternut squash on its side on a large sturdy cutting board. Use a sharp chef’s knife to carefully slice off the top 1/2-inch (including the stem) of the squash, and discard. Repeat by slicing off the bottom 1/2-inch of the squash, and discard.