What is the giant impact theory?

The giant-impact theory is sometimes called the Big Splash, or the Theia Impact suggests that the Moon formed out of the debris left over from a collision between a large astronomical body and the earth... imagine, a large object hitting earth and a chunk of earth becomes dislodged... the moon :)