Why does our body get goosebumps?

Goosebumps are the result of tiny muscles flexing in the skin, making hairs stand up. Goosebumps are an involuntary reaction; the nerves that control the fight or flight response control these skin muscles. Puffing up your hair makes you warmer or larger-looking in case of danger.