Who invented tennis shoes?

A number of inventors have been credited with various stages of the style's evolution. The invention of vulcanised rubber made the tennis shoe possible and, according to some sources, the Liverpool Rubber Company founded by John Dunlop, produced the first rubber-soled shoe in the early 19th century.