How much baking powder should i use instead of baking soda?

If a recipe calls for baking soda, you can substitute three times the amount of baking powder: e.g., three teaspoons baking powder, in place of one teaspoon baking soda. However, in some cases using baking powder will impart a slight bitterness to the flavor.