What's an a topic pregnancy?

An eck, topic, pregnancy is when the fertilized egg implants outside the uterus. Most commonly this occurs inside one of the uterine tubes. The fertilized egg can't survive outside the uterus. If left to grow, it may damage nearby organs, and cause life-threatening complications for the mother.

---

An ectopic pregnancy occurs when the fertilized egg attaches itself in a place other than inside the uterus. The fallopian tubes are not designed to hold a growing embryo; thus, the fertilized egg in a tubal pregnancy cannot develop properly and must be treated.

---

An ectopic pregnancy is when a pregnancy occurs outside of the uterus.