What's an a topic pregnancy?

An ectopic pregnancy occurs when the fertilized egg attaches itself in a place other than inside the uterus. The fallopian tubes are not designed to hold a growing embryo; thus, the fertilized egg in a tubal pregnancy cannot develop properly and must be treated.