What is a dairy feeder?

Feeder cattle, in some regions called store cattle, are young cattle mature enough either to undergo to be fattened in preparation for slaughter. These calves are less than 1 year old; feeder yearlings are between 1 and 2 years old. Both types are often produced in a cow-calf operation.