Who is the prince in beauty and the beast?

Throughout Beauty & the Beast, the Beast is referred to as Prince, Master, and Beast, but he is never given a real name. On the film's official IMDB page the character is listed as Beast no other name is included. Later confirmed by the CD-ROM tie-in game and the Broadway musical his name is Adam.