Can i substitute buttermilk for half and half?

Replacing half-and-half with buttermilk is a little trickier. The tangy flavor of buttermilk is very different from milk or half-and-half. But the main difference is acidity. Buttermilk is high in acidity, and that can cause problems if you try to use it instead of half-and-half in baking.