How many baby teeth?

Human children have about 20 baby teeth. Also called milk teeth, these begin to fall out at about 5 or 6 years of age to make room for adult teeth.

---

Most children have a full set of 20 milk or baby teeth by the time they're 3 years old. When they reach 5 or 6, these teeth will start to fall out, making way for adult teeth. Read more about baby teeth and how to tell if a baby is teething.