What is sodium benzonite?

Sodium benzoate is a substance which has the chemical formula C₆H₅COONa. It is a widely used food preservative, with an E number of E211. It is the sodium salt of benzoic acid and exists in this form when dissolved in water. It can be produced by reacting sodium hydroxide with benzoic acid