How did king george become king?

He was the King of the United Kingdom from 11 December 1936 until he died. He became king when his elder brother, Edward VIII abdicated (resigned) in 1936 to marry Wallis Simpson. He was succeeded as monarch by his eldest daughter Elizabeth II.