Where do mosquitoes go when it rains?

If the rain gets particularly heavy, mosquitoes seek shelter. They will often hide under the backside of leaves until the rain lets up. They also search for dark places where they can be protected from falling rain. This shelters them and protects them from drowning during periods of heavy rain.