What's the rarest color?

Broadly speaking, the color that appears least often in nature is blue. Among specific shades, the color most often cited for its rarity is the deep blue of lapis lazuli, when ground into the powdered pigment known as ultramarine. (In Europe, it was once more valuable than gold.)

---

Broadly speaking, the color that appears least often in nature is blue. Among specific shades, the color most often cited for its rarity is the deep blue of lapis lazuli, when ground into the powdered pigment known as ultramarine. (In Europe, it was once more valuable than gold.)