What are some examples of perception?

A perception is any taste, sound, smell, sight, or tactile event sensed by receptors, the dendritic tips of axons of nerve cells, that get conveyed to the brain where the chemical messages are interpreted and converted into a conscious awareness & cognitive understanding of the world around us.