What is hair porosity?

Hair porosity refers to the amount of moisture your hair can hold. High porosity might lead to weakened and breaking hair because the cuticle is raised. Low porosity hair might not absorb coloring or softening products.

---

Hair porosity simply refers to your hair's ability to absorb and retain moisture, and here are three ways to determine where yours falls on the porosity spectrum: low, normal or high.