How often does canada do a census?

The national government of Canada took a census every ten years from 1871 to 1970 and then every five years since 1971.

---

Unlike the United States, which conducts a census once every 10 years, Canada takes its census every five years, in years ending in “1” and “6.” According to demographer Roderic Beaujot of the University of Western Ontario, the mid-decade census started in 1906.