Why was candycorn made?

According to an October 2017 Business Insider story: "Candy corn isn't just sugar. It's actually made up of several ingredients, including sugar, corn syrup, confectioner's glaze, gelatin, salt, dextrose, gelatin, sesame oil, artificial flavor, honey, yellow 6, yellow 5, and red 3."