What do you call a chicken?

Chickens are fowl. Birds, part of ornithology and its' study. While male chickens are called roosters, and females are called hens, there are many different species, with lightest under a pound and the heaviest over 30 pounds. Foghorn Leghorn (cartoon) was a feather legged chicken and very large.