Why do elephants throw dirt on themselves?

To counteract the damaging rays of the sun, elephants throw sand on themselves. When coming out of a bath in a river, elephants will often throw mud on themselves as a layer of protection. And when calves are sleeping, adults will often stand over them to cast shade and protect them from the sun.