When did chuck yeager break the sound barrier?

The sound barrier was broken in 1947 by Chuck Yeager in a rocket-powered Bell X-1. A jet breaking the sound barrier.

---

Chuck Yeager broke the sound barrier on October 14, 1947. It was a Tuesday.