How do you dry out a cell phone?

Grab a big bowl, then into the bowl goes your wet phone and enough rice to adequately cover it. Now forget about it for 24 hours. Only when the time is up should you reassemble your dry device and attempt to switch it on. If it doesn't work, stick it back in the rice and try again the following day