What color are your veins?

They are mostly colorless, but the blood inside is either bright or dark red. The blood in your veins appears blue because you are looking at your veins through layers of skin and fat.

---

Veins themselves are mostly colorless. It is the blood in the veins that gives them color. Compared against the flesh of your skin they appear blue.