How do you get rid of zinc?

Chelation is a process that removes excess metals, such as zinc, copper, or lead, from the body. During this treatment, a doctor gives the person a drug that helps bind the excess zinc and remove it from the body through the urine. This removal prevents the body from absorbing zinc.