When did the muppet start?

Rowlf Despite Kermit the Frog often being credited as the iconic Muppet, Rowlf was actually the first known Muppet "star" as a recurring character on The Jimmy Dean Show, first appearing in a telecast on September 26, 1963.

---

The Muppets from Jim Henson, were an offshoot of the puppet characters that debuted on Sesame Street in November 1969. The television show "The Muppet Show" debuted in 1976.