Did the u. s. have a draft?

Yes, the United States had a draft, also called conscription, for most of its history.

---

Conscription in the United States, commonly known as the draft, has been employed by the federal government of the United States in six conflicts: the American Revolutionary War, the American Civil War, World War I, World War II, the Korean War, and the Vietnam War.