How do i open a hatchimal?

In order to get a Hatchimal to hatch, pick up the egg and rub the bottom or tap on the shell. You must interact with the egg before it will begin hatching. Continue to hold the egg during the hatching process, rubbing your hands along the sides of the egg. It can take 25-40 minutes to fully hatch.