How fast was the saturn five rocket?

When Saturn V blasted off from the Earth, the first stage burned for 2.5 minutes, lifting the rocket to an altitude of 68 km (42 miles) and a speed of 2.76 km per second (9,920 km per hour or 6,164 mph).