What is the difference between red cabbage and purple cabbage?

Red cabbage is a nutrient-rich, cruciferous, or Brassica vegetable that's related to cauliflower and kale. It's sometimes called purple cabbage since its leaves are a dark purple-reddish color. Red cabbage typically is a little smaller and denser than green cabbage, and has a more peppery taste.