What type of underwear do men wear?

Men wear a variety of underwear. Some for function, like a jockstrap for sports. Some for fashion or to impress a partner, like bikinis or thongs. But most wear underwear, like briefs, boxerbriefs, or boxers to keep their outer clothes clean.