What are turkeys?

There are large birds known as turkeys. They play a featured role on American dinner tables at Thanksgiving. There are also people known as turkeys. They are the opposite of bright.

---

A turkey is a large bird from North America and classified as one of two species. Best known is the North American turkey, is the most common, and, domesticated for consumption. The other species is the ocellated turkey residing primarily in the Yucatan peninsula, Belize and Guatemala.