What are electrolytes in the human body?

Electrolytes consist of light metals such a sodium, potassium, magnesium, and calcium. Dissolved metals called cations carry electric charge essential for the body to function.

---

An electrolyte is one of the substances in the blood that helps to regulate the proper balance of body fluids. Electrolytes include sodium and potassium. They’re involved in most everything your body does, especially ensuring your muscles and nerve function properly. Your life depends on them.