What does riptide do in minecraft?

The Riptide enchantment is a new enchantment that will be available in the Aquatic Update (Java Edition 1.13) and can be added to a trident. With this enchantment, your trident will propel you forward when you throw a trident while in the water or out in the rain (you must be wet in water).

---

You can put it on tridents to go farther in the water.