How do you stop a nosebleed?

Sitting upright, leaning slightly forward, and pinching both nostrils shut for 5 to 10 minutes may help stop a nosebleed. Repeating these steps may also help.

---

Stop a nosebleed by pinching the nostrils. Use your thumb and place it on the side of your nose and place the index finger on the other side of the nose. Then move the fingers to the nasal cartilage. Hold your nose for 5 minutes and the bleeding will normally stop. Seek help if it continues.