What does i. e. mean?

The abbreviation “i.e.” stands for id est, which is Latin for “that is.” The abbreviation “e.g.” stands for the Latin phrase exempli gratia, meaning “for example.” Let's consider a sentence that uses “i.e.”: All employees will receive the standard discount; i.e., 20 percent.