What is the narcotic chat?

Khat (or qat) is a flowering plant native to eastern and southern Africa. Khat contains the alkaloid cathinone, a stimulant, which is said to cause excitement, loss of appetite, and euphoria. Khat chewing has a history as a social custom like coca leaves in South America and betel nut in Asia.