Who lives in timbuktu?

The Tuareg, Fulani, Arabs and Songhai are the main groups that shaped the history of Timbuktu. The groups intermarried and worked together as 1 united Islamic family. Tuaregs are nomadic people, desert dwellers. Tuareg are either Messufa, Lamtuna, or Judaala, who traced ancestry back to the Sanhaja.