How many licks does it take to get to the bottom of a tootsie pop?

A group of engineering students from Purdue University reported that its licking machine, took an average of 364 licks to get to the center of a Tootsie Pop. Twenty of the group's volunteers assumed the licking challenge -unassisted by machinery- and averaged 252 licks each to the center.