Who were the first people to settle in the united states?

St. Augustine, Florida, established in 1565, is the oldest European settlement in the continental United States. The 1st settlement est. as a U.S. territory was Caparra, the 1st capital of Puerto Rico, est. in 1508. Plymouth, est. in 1620 in Massachusetts, was the colony of the so-called Pilgrims.