What is the difference between a quilt and a comforter?

There are quite a few differences between quilts and comforters. Quilts are thinner than comforters and are rarely as warm as comforters. Quilts usually feature more elaborate flamboyant designs than comforters and are usually paired with other pieces of bedding.