Did the state of kentucky fight in the civil war?

Kentucky was a border state of key importance in the American Civil War. After early 1862 Kentucky came largely under Union control. 35,000 Kentuckians served as Confederate soldiers; an estimated 125,000 Kentuckians served as Union soldiers.