When did benjamin franklin invent electricity?

Franklin started exploring the phenomenon of electricity in 1746. He was the first to discover the principle of conservation of charge. In recognition of his work with electricity, Franklin became one of the few 18th-century Americans elected as a Fellow of the Society.