When did benjamin franklin invent electricity?

Franklin started exploring the phenomenon of electricity in 1746. He was the first to discover the principle of conservation of charge. In recognition of his work with electricity, Franklin became one of the few 18th-century Americans elected as a Fellow of the Society.

---

Benjamin Franklin did not invent electricity. In 1752 he performed an experiment flying a kite in a lightning storm, thereby discovering how electricity was conducted.