What are the karate levels?

The first five levels are signified with colored belts: white, orange, red, yellow, and green. The sixth and seventh levels are signified with a purple belt, and the eighth through tenth levels are represented with a brown belt. After your last brown belt, you'll achieve your first black belt.

---

Different karate dojos use different ranking systems. Most start with white belt and end with black belts of increasing rank. In between, there are a number of different colored belts such as yellow, green, blue, purple, orange, red, brown, etc. Some dojos also have indicators of a senior ranking.