How many pokemon are in pokemon sword and shield?

The Galar regional Pokédex contains 400 Pokémon. The games support more Pokémon through the use of Pokémon HOME. About 200 more Pokémon will be added with the Expansion Pass. Pokémon added in the DLC will not be available for capture in the base game, but can be traded or transferred over.

---

The Pokémon Sword and Sheild Galar Region Pokédex contains 400 Pokémon in total.