What is a white tea?

White tea is known to be one of the most delicate tea varieties because it is so minimally processed. White tea is harvested before the tea plant's leaves open fully, when the young buds are still covered by fine white hairs, hence the name “white” tea.

---

There is no agreement or consensus on the meaning of White Tea. It has come to refer to Tea with minimal processing, or Tea made from tea buds and young leaves. Considered to have a lighter flavor than traditional processed Tea.